The Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite in each country is governed by a Supreme Council. There is no international governing body — each Supreme Council in each country is sovereign unto itself. In the U.S. there are two Supreme Councils. The Northern Masonic Jurisdiction (NMJ) is headquartered in Lexington, Massachusetts, and the Southern Jurisdiction (SJ) in Washington, DC. The Northern Masonic Jurisdiction refers to state organizations as Councils of Deliberation and the local bodies are organized into Valleys.

Each Valley has up to four Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees. In the Northern Masonic Jurusdiction, the bodies are the:

  • Lodge of Perfection (4°–14°)
  • Council of Princes of Jerusalem (15°–16°)
  • Chapter of Rose Croix (17°–18°)
  • Consistory (19°–32°)

The Supreme Council confers the 33° of Sovereign Grand Inspector General.

Scottish Rite Freemasonry today can be found throughout the world. Supreme Councils have been established on nearly every continent and now include the following nations:

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, England & Wales, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iran-In-Exile, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Serbia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Togo, Turkey, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Northern Masonic Jurisdiction Website.